Alicia Lopez’s Musings

VALENTINE LOVE

Posted on: February 14, 2012

Ah, February, the month set aside for lovers.

Unless you are from a planet far away in the distance, you know that this month brings extra beatings to your heart, sets many a set of eyes a-flutter, and brings some of the strongest men to their knees.

I know of which I speak, because “I’ve had a love of my own”, as the song states.

My hubby and I were married for fifty eight years before his passing, and never a Valentine’s Day went by that we did not remember each other in some special way. During the lean years it might have been just a love note tucked away in unexpected places, a surprise hug, a rose cut from our garden and placed by the bedside.

The last Valentine’s Day we spent together, he was too weak to give more than a kiss. I made up for it by buying him a plant that he had always admired, telling him he was my true love, and hiding my tears from him; six days later, he was gone.

It has been three years, and I still miss him terribly. It is very hard to live alone with your memories, and try to fill that empty space in your life. How can you replace half a soul ripped from you?

This special day for lovers I ask each of you to hold tight with what you have; forgive small grievances, and perhaps even larger ones, life is too short to hold on to grudges. Ask yourself what you would do without him, or her, the lovable parts without the less loveable.

Yes, I will repeat the words from the song “Hello Young Lovers” where ever you are, ” I’ve had a love of my own”.

Hasta La Vista

20120214-185357.jpg

2 Responses to "VALENTINE LOVE"

This is a wonderful article you wrote on a very special day. I will always remember the plant you bought Dad for Valentines Day. I came to visit you after you bought it. I believe that’s when we took Dad to the doctor.
Looking forward to seeing you this weekend and remembering Dad with the fondest of memories…Love you, Bebes

Alicia, I loved your Febuary blog. It seems that we’re gone each year of the anniversary of your loves passing. I do remember him as a great person with a great heart and a great voice. It was a pleasure to sit next to him in church choir. I’ll remember him always.
Love to you, Eva

Leave a Reply

